The Board of Supervisors Budget/Salary meeting of the Town of Fredenberg, Minnesota, St. Louis County was held in the Fredenberg Town Hall on Thursday, January 26, 2023, at 8:14 PM.

**Board members present:** Chair Tim Wagner, Vice Chair Deb Pawlowicz, Supervisors Clay Cich, Walter Rapp, and Jeff Blix and Treasurer Pam Blekestad, Clerk Ellen Hanson, Deputy Clerk Kim Wagner. **Others in Attendance:** There were 4 others in attendance.

1. Call to order the Budget/Salary meeting: The meeting was called to order by Chair Wagner at 8:14 PM.

# 2. Approve the Agenda

• There was a motion by Supervisor Rapp to approve the agenda as presented and seconded by Supervisor Cich. There was a roll call vote and all signified affirmative. This motion carried unanimously.

## 3. Proposed Levy

The Board had a discussion on the past levies and the proposed 2024 levy. The proposed 2024 fund amounts are: General fund: \$34,943.00; Town building: \$15,000.00; Fire Department: \$113,190.000; Cemetery: \$1,400.00: Parks & Recreation: \$10,000.00 ; Roads & Bridges: \$150,000.00; Fire Hall Bond: \$60,000; total \$384,533.00.

### 4. Salary/Wages

• The Board had a discussion on employee wage increases for 2023. There was a motion by Supervisor Cich to increase the wages across the board by 3%, except custodian and recycling to \$17.00/hour, no increases for Supervisors. There was a roll call vote and all signified affirmative. This motion carried unanimously.

### 5. Open Forum

• Fire Chief Linda Bergstrand asked for a 5% increase for the 2024 Fire Department levy due to increasing operating expenses. Supervisor Cich stated that a 10% was better. There was a motion by Supervisor Cich to increase the Fire Department 2024 base levy by 10% (\$5145.00) and seconded by Chair Wagner. There was a roll call vote and all signified affirmative. This motion carried unanimously.

### 6. Adjourn

• There was a motion by Chair Wagner to adjourn meeting and seconded Supervisor Pawlowicz. There was a roll call vote and all signified affirmative. This motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Ellen Hanson Clerk Tim Wagner Board Chair

Kim Wagner Deputy Clerk